Artist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, this is my first time using watercolor pencils (or even colored pencils for that matter) and I have no idea what I'm doing so I'll take any advice I can get. :)

Here's my plan. I started out graphing my ref. photo and paper (Canson watercolor paper) and just outlined the cub very lightly with an h2 pencil. I did more detail with this pencil than I normally do because I wanted the gray of the pencil to show through...I think. Like I said, I've never done this before, lol! Then, I'm going to layer the colors from lightest to darkest. Now, supposedly you just go over areas with a wet brush and voila, it's becomes a painting. Well, I'm thinking of using a slightly damp q-tip because I don't want to lose many fur lines.

Anyway, here's the reference photo:
Horse Liver Sorrel Fawn Terrestrial animal

The next three are just drawing the base. It's pretty light, hope you can see it.
Brown Wood Art Rectangle Drawing

Felidae Carnivore Grey Rectangle Wood

Carnivore Felidae Wood Grey Art

Here I've started the color. I think I'm going to color the whole cub before adding any water, though. If anyone has any other ideas as to where I should go from here feel free to jump in. :D

Attachments

·
Registered
464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Really? Then you should post some that you've done. Maybe I'll learn something. :)

·
Registered
464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Here it is all filled in with color:
Lion Felidae Small to medium-sized cats Carnivore Big cats

And here I've started adding water. You can tell where I've done it, left side of face including ear and eye and the forehead. My idea of using a q-tip didn't work. I tried it out on a practice sheet and it turned the pencil marks to mud. So I found an old, slightly stiff paintbrush and that worked well.

Felidae Carnivore Lion Small to medium-sized cats Big cats

·
Registered
464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·