Artist Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new. I have been dabbling in art since high school...I'm in my early 30's now. I studied graphic design for two years in college and then realized that I hated the "structure". But it was in college I learned of a simple technique called posterization.

A few years ago I started painting grayscale portraits using the technique. A friend of mine that also studied graphic design tried to debate with me that it wasn't really art and was almost a "cheat". I like the minimalist approach to getting a realistic image, as well as the speed in which I can knock out a painting. I like immediate results and lose interest in projects that drag out.

So I ask you, is this technique really art? Am I cheapening the craft of painting?

Attachments

·
Registered
92 Posts
Hello, I'm new. I have been dabbling in art since high school...I'm in my early 30's now. I studied graphic design for two years in college and then realized that I hated the "structure". But it was in college I learned of a simple technique called posterization.

A few years ago I started painting grayscale portraits using the technique. A friend of mine that also studied graphic design tried to debate with me that it wasn't really art and was almost a "cheat". I like the minimalist approach to getting a realistic image, as well as the speed in which I can knock out a painting. I like immediate results and lose interest in projects that drag out.

So I ask you, is this technique really art? Am I cheapening the craft of painting?
This isn't an easy one to answer subjectively. If we step away from art and onto automobiles, maybe we could work out an answer.