Artist Forum banner

New to watercolor - start with pencils or not?

4K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  noah 
#1 ·
Hi, all:

I'm looking to start learning watercolor painting - purely for my own enjoyment, as I'm not a professional artist by any means - and was recommended to start with watercolor pencils instead of traditional painting. What are the pros and cons for starting with one or the other, and can anyone offer me an educated recommendation based on experience/expertise?

Thanks!

#3 ·
Hello!

That is so exciting that you're exploring watercolours as a medium for painting.
I began using watercolour paints (not pencils) when I was 16 years old, and learned different techniques on my own by experimentation / play. To me, this is the best way to really discover the wonders of any medium in creating art, or sculpture , or any creative endeavour!
I did read a few books dedicated to watercolour painting, and this was really helpful, but nowdays you can easily access tutorials online with Youtube, artist's websites etc which I would strongly recommend. It helps so much to actually see how layering works with these delicate, beautifully transparent paints, how to do wet on wet or wet on dry techniques amongst others.
I do use watercolour pencils as an enhancement to my watercolour paints, but I personally would explore the paints first as this will give you a solid grounding on the nature of the medium and how to mix the colours themselves using a palette and water.
Good Luck, and most of all - have fun, enjoy and play with your Creativity!
You can check out some of my watercolour paintings process on my Blog:
https://lizapaizis.wordpress.com/category/watercolor/page/2/

#4 ·
watercolours