Artist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

Im kind of new to portrait drawing but I would love to get some thoughts about my drawings. Dont go easy on me please, say whats need to be said ! Would really like to evovle.

Im sorry for the amount of picture, couldnt resist adding them all ..
Thanks you all!

Attachments

· Registered
45 Posts
Wow, for the most part, these are really good!

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, I’m not good at drawing people myself, but I’m happy to try and help anyway.

In some drawings, you have really good contrast and shading, there’s a strong mix of black, greys and the plain whites of the page. Others seem a little too grey and blended, making them look a bit flat. Take a look at the two people with sunglasses compared to the ape, they seem to have a lighting effect that brings the drawing to a sort of 3D perspective, compared to the ape, who is somewhat one tone in colour except for the dark eye.

Taking another look at the two people with sunglasses, the man on the right seems to have odd proportions. If he was to remove his glasses and look directly at you, his right eye would currently be higher than his left. The angle is weird, if you understand what I mean. The right lense should be somewhat lower than the left lense with the way his head is tilted.

But like I said, these are really good, especially if you’re new to portraiture! Tone and perspective can be tricky to get right, especially when it comes to realistic styles of art.

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you very much for your comment! I will look into more tones and angles. I find myself often getting kind of blind when drawing for a longer time. Usually I have to correct a bunch of mistakes after a good night sleep 😅 havent thought of the mans angles though! Thank you once again

· Registered
Digital art, editing, the likes
59 Posts
Hi!