Artist Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
KINETIC SCULPTURE
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a senior artist I know today one must Cross Your T's, and Dot Your I's in this industry. In the 70s-80s one would sell their art sculptures, larger ones installed on site and that was it. Today we have to consider Liability Artist Insurance, post sale incidents one didn't think of. Say you install an outdoor kinetic sculpture and a severe storm arises and causes havoc on your sculpture causing it to swirl and come apart and possibly injure someone nearby at the time it came apart. It is something we thought of when designing and in my case I would have 'tested conditions close to this high velocity wind' (document, video test results for proof and for client presentation) but some don't and pay the consequences in a court battle.

I'm needing advice on how metal, kinetic artists "protect themselves post sale" when "things happen" and the buyer/client comes back to you (at worst, in court).
I have insurance for visitors to my studio, showing area and building but this, "Sold Art, Installed on Site" with unique situations involving Structural Failure (out of my control) and/or bodily injury/liability because someone got hurt - what insurance or protection documents (contract statement at sale and installation of art piece) should one have in place?

With everyone suing each other at a blink of an eye these days (taking all the fun out of creating art sculptures that move in a room or outdoors), one must protect themselves at all turns.

·
Administrator
134 Posts
How big are your sculptures ?? I've seen some that are 100 feet tall and simple ones that are only 5 feet tall.

you need to check with your local city officials as to "what kind" of insurnace you need to cover.