Artist Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm here because I want to learn and meet others with similar leanings. I want to be able to say “I'm an artist”, without feeling obligated to go on about how, “I'm really not very good”, or some other such qualification.

When I was very young people in my life told me I was talented at drawing and I loved art and the place it brought me in my mind. Some how as I got older I started to buy in to the idea that artistic endeavors were impractical and all artists eccentric (the eccentric part I no longer think is a bad thing btw, but I was young and cared more what others think than I do now :)). There's a little more to my abandoning art than this but that is the general idea... and thus I have done very little art in the past 15 years or so. I love art especially portraiture. I know I am lacking in technique and am intimated by mediums with which I have had little experience but I feel it's time for me to get over that bs and learn and develop. Perhaps I'll never be great but I can be the best I can be, (so cheesy but so true).

My grandmother was portrait artist. She was quite good and I am proud to be able to show people her work and would like my family to be able to say the same about me. I feel art is in my blood. Now I just need practice, technique.

My schedule right now is hectic. I work full time, I'm a single mother and soon I'll be doing university classes as well. Still I feel I must make time to develop my artistic side. I have found a life drawing/painting studio near where I live and am going to try to find time to go to drop in sessions, especially since people are my subject of choice. I am also considering taking online classes through Sessions College for Professional Design, but would like to know if they are reputable before I shell out money. Does anyone have experience with them?