Artist Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi ive started painting in oil, but even using a fast dry medium with it, its stickyish and it is not moving across the paper ok, I havent done oil before so I am new to it, ive prepared the paper and primed it,. Its annoying me as I cannot do it without globby paint strokes. Am I putting too much medium in the paint or should i put less, it is sticky in texture, I cannot fluently paint with the paints, and it ends up liney, and thick when I do a stroke when I come to the edge, so a clump of paint builds up.!

· Registered
44 Posts
I’m not an expert with oil paints, but I do remember what an art teacher once said about it.

Essentially, you’re only meant to use a small amount of the paint at a time, and even then I remember the oil paints being watered down with something (though I’m afraid I don’t remember what, hopefully someone else can chip in).

Apparently, you’re supposed to build up the oil paints onto your chosen canvas very slowly, with a thin layer by layer kind of process. Somewhat like watercolour, I assume.

· Registered
24 Posts
I'm no expert either but I'm getting better , I don't use mediums at all as I'm blocking it in just a ton of mineral spirits . the biggest improvement iv made myself is just working thin to thick and keeping that paint ultra thin as I go .

· Registered
Digital art, editing, the likes
59 Posts
Hi ive started painting in oil, but even using a fast dry medium with it, its stickyish and it is not moving across the paper ok, I havent done oil before so I am new to it, ive prepared the paper and primed it,. Its annoying me as I cannot do it without globby paint strokes. Am I putting too much medium in the paint or should i put less, it is sticky in texture, I cannot fluently paint with the paints, and it ends up liney, and thick when I do a stroke when I come to the edge, so a clump of paint builds up.!