Artist Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi i'm completely new here, and i'm not very good at art either haha but thought i'd try something new. I can't find an example of the exact thing I'm looking for on the internet Thankfully after scouring for days, finally found this website. Hoozah!

In my head I know what i'm wanting to make and how it should look but am entirely stumped when it comes to equipment I need to get. And also if my "sculpture" will even be structurally sound.

I am wanting to make a figure, only around a foot tall, made from wire. So.. bent and coiled into place. i was going to use a soldering iron, if need be, to help form facial features and buttons and things It's to be quite detailed and verging on delicate

I desperately want to smooth out the gaps (or bumps) between each layer/coil of the wire so that it's extremely smooth..silky smooth and almost polished by the time I'm finished, possibly.
Hopefully without soldering, as I think that would add bulk to it .. I'd prefer to melt one strand of coil to the next,above and below, and only wanted to add this solder stuff if I reeally have to.

I have the issue that i have a very, very confined craft space, and don't want to have actual flames on the go as it's just too hazardous.

Sorry long post. In short, is there a tool that heats up enough to melt say steel or copper with out having to use the solder stuff ..or does the solder evaporate when zapped??

Sorry if i've worded this terribly and makes no sense as I said, i'm no artist But I've had this image in my head for months now, so if there's anything, anyone can suggest as a starting point for me i would be so superly grateful.
Cat

·
Administrator
99 Posts
welcome to the forum, Cat. What do you do for a living ?
you have so many things going on against you.
1. you can see what you want but we can't
2. you have no soldering experience. (electric or gas torch).