Artist Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys super stoked to be a part of this online community:D..I'm extremely new to drawing and trying to learn the absolute basics and fundamentals so I was wondering if any of you more experienced artists could lend me a hand? I'm just not sure what exactly i should be practicing or what i should try learning first...any and all feedback is greatly appreciated:) and sorry if i should've asked for help in a different forum section, this seemed like the best spot.

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
Welcome! The main thing I can suggest is to just draw, draw, draw and draw some more. Draw everything you can. Even if it's something as simple as a pencil. Focus on shapes and shadows. Don't start with anything difficult. The more you draw the better you will get. Keep a sketch pad with you at all times and if something strikes your fancy whip it out and sketch it out. I used to have a pocket sized sketch book that I took around with me everywhere.

Make sure to set aside time to draw pictures of things that interest you as well. If you are really interested in improving then set aside a little time each and every day to draw - even if it is only 15 minutes or half an hour. Even that little bit will help.

What I like to do is draw - then pull back and take a picture of my work and look at the photograph I took. For whatever reason when I do that I find the flaws a lot easier because I tend to get so engrossed when I am drawing that I don't see them. Backing away and looking at your work through a new set of eyes does help as well.