Artist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What would be the best graphics pad for drawing digital images? Bear in mind I am looking for a fairly cheap model, however suggestions for low to middle of the range models would be appreciated. I am looking to draw mainly cartoon images for online games if that helps your decision.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Okay thanks. I've never used a graphics pad before. Would you need one where the screen shows up on the pad or would you get used to drawing on the plain pad?
You don't need to see the screen 'on the pad' as it were. No pads in fact do that. The pen on any tablet is like the mouse (you don't look at your mouse when you are looking around a PC/Laptop screen) The pen just gives you more natural control over your movements - and with slightly more advanced tablets the harder you press on the pen - the thicker the line on the screen (or whatever settings it has been set up for)

·
Registered
262 Posts
You don't need to see the screen 'on the pad' as it were. No pads in fact do that. The pen on any tablet is like the mouse (you don't look at your mouse when you are looking around a PC/Laptop screen) The pen just gives you more natural control over your movements - and with slightly more advanced tablets the harder you press on the pen - the thicker the line on the screen (or whatever settings it has been set up for)
Agreed many times over!

One amendment I'd make is that the entry level wacom (Bamboo) also has pressure sensitivity too, just lesser degrees (like 512 vs1024 points or something).

I heard one person compare trying to draw with a mouse is like trying to draw with a bar of soap!