Looking for some advice! [Archive] - Artist Forum

: Looking for some advice!


Fasttrax
12-07-2012, 11:16 AM
Hello Everyone!

Very nice forum you guys have here! :)

I was wondering if someone could recommend me some products (specifically ones I could buy online), my girlfriend loves art and for christmas I wanted to get her a sketch pad and pencils (among other things lol :p) but I have no idea which brands are noted for their quality and which are not?

My issue is I have no idea when it comes to art supplies, and I don't want to out right ask her and ruin the surprise, so if anyone could show me some links to products they would recommend, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks! :)

-TR

George924
12-07-2012, 03:02 PM
Hey TR, it's great you are asking this question because when other people buy me art supplies, most of the time I cannot use it and give it away in the end anyway. http://www.dickblick.com/ is where I purchase most of my supplies look at Canson Classic Cream Drawing Pad (http://www.dickblick.com/products/canson-classic-cream-drawing-pad/) or Strathmore 300 Series Drawing Pads (http://www.dickblick.com/products/strathmore-300-series-drawing-pads/) for the paper I use Stonehenge Drawing Paper Pads (http://www.dickblick.com/products/stonehenge-drawing-paper-pads/) for my color pencil work most of the time. For pencils
(http://www.dickblick.com/products/blick-studio-drawing-pencils/)Blick Studio Drawing Pencils (http://www.dickblick.com/products/blick-studio-drawing-pencils/),Derwent Sketching Pencils (http://www.dickblick.com/products/derwent-sketching-pencils/),
Prismacolor Turquoise Drawing Pencils (http://www.dickblick.com/products/prismacolor-turquoise-drawing-pencils/),Prismacolor Colored Pencils (http://www.dickblick.com/products/prismacolor-colored-pencils/),Faber-Castell Polychromos Pencils (http://www.dickblick.com/products/faber-castell-polychromos-pencils/)

There is a start if you have any other questions, we'll be able to help you out there...

Fasttrax
12-07-2012, 03:36 PM
Thank you so much!! :D

I'll check out all the links when I get a second (at work now :p) and post a reply.

Once again, really apprecate it!

chanda95
12-07-2012, 08:48 PM
I agree - excellent question and advice given. I can't tell you how much "crap" I have sitting around bought for me by well-meaning people. The fact that you are actually asking before you buy should earn you big brownie points. I wish more people had asked me..

Totally agree on the Prismacolor - nice pencils. I also purchase most of my supplies through Blick. The prices and selection are considerably better than anything I can find locally.

Fasttrax
12-07-2012, 10:15 PM
Yes well, that's my reason for asking, I don't want to buy "crap" and give it as a gift! :p It's nice that there's people here kind enough to provide me with info, art supplies are confusing to someone like me who can hardly doodle lol!

chanda95
12-07-2012, 10:40 PM
It can get confusing. There is such a wide variety out there that I completely understand how overwhelming it can be. I get on Blicks and have a hard time picking and choosing even though I usually go in knowing what I want and need... It's like being a kid in a candy store.

Ichigo
01-17-2013, 03:51 AM
I usually buy Mont Marte products, since they are quite good quality and easy for me to get from Art shops and not too bad priced.

For Drawing Pads it's best to go for a higher GSM thickness to reduce tearing when you drawing with pencils.

My A4 Pads are 140 GSM and 200 GSM for A3, not sure about my A5 ones.

Works the same if she decides to do painting also with the same pad, so I would get an all purpose paper which does all mediums with a high thickness ratio, may cost more but it's worth it.

Browse the website to see what they have
http://montmarte.net/products/Paper_Pads_Diaries/Watercolour_Paper